Skip to main content
  • Edward Kidder Graham Award recognizes outstanding service by a member of the Voting Faculty. The award calls to remembrance President Graham’s ambition to “to make the campus co‐extensive with the boundaries of the State,” in the context of the University’s modern mission to extend knowledge‐based service world‐wide.
  • Faculty Mentoring Awards recognize outstanding faculty members who go the extra mile to guide, mentor and lead undergraduate students, graduate students, or junior faculty.
  • Junior Faculty Development Awards  are internal fellowships that provide an opportunity for junior, untenured faculty to concentrate exclusively on advancing or completing an important professional or scholarly project.
  • O. Max Gardner Award goes to “that member of the faculty of the Consolidated University of North Carolina, who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.”
  • School of Law Faculty Awards contains a listing of awards that recognize faculty members for their accomplishments in teaching, research and service to the School of Law.
  • School of Medicine Academy of Educator Teaching Awards are designed to complement the existing teaching awards and to recognize the many faculty who excel in teaching, but may not be recognized currently because teaching is not their major focus and/or they do not play a leadership role in the curriculum.
  • Senior Faculty Competitive Research and Scholarly Leave are internal fellowships that pay a full base salary for one semester or one-half of the base salary for the full academic year, including an addition research fund.  Any full-time, salaried member of the faculty holding a tenured, tenure track, or fixed-term position at the associate or full professor level (or similar rank) is eligible.
  • Thomas Jefferson Award is presented annually to “that member of the academic community who through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing, and scholarship has best exemplified the ideals and objectives of Thomas Jefferson.”
  • William C. Friday/Class of 1986 Award for Excellence in Teaching was created by members of the 1986 graduating class to recognize members of the faculty who have exemplified excellence in inspirational teaching and is named in honor of William C. Friday, who devoted a lifetime of service to the University as President of the UNC system.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email